The innovation in the treatment of dry eyes

The first eye drops to contain perfluorohexyloctane and also the first water-free drops in the treatment of dry eyes.

The unique* lipid replacement

EvoTears® and EvoTears® OMEGA are the world’s first eye drops with the innovative substance perfluorohexyloctane and also the first water-free drops for the treatment of dry eyes. They are offered in a handy dropper bottle.

The EvoTears® products form a protective layer over the tear film. Consequently, they quickly and reliably prevent premature evaporation of the tear film and thus dry eyes. At the same time, vision is not impaired. As the products are free of additives they are very well tolerated.

Dry eyes are caused, for instance

  • by a compromised lipid layer, i.e. premature evaporation of the tear film. In 58 % of dry eye patients this is the sole cause1,
  • by a combination of compromised lipid layer and volume deficiency. This affects
    31 % of dry eye patients.

Because the EvoTears® products specifically address the problem with the lipid layer, they are suitable for almost 90 % of dry eye patients.

* due to perfluorohexyloctane and being water-free.

1 Tong L et al. Invest Ophthalmol Yis Sci, 2010. 51: 3449-3454

 

The EvoTears® products convince with decisive advantages:

1. EvoTears® and EvoTears® OMEGA take on the function of the lipid layer

The lipophilic, i.e. oil-like property of perfluorohexyloctane allows it to take on the function of the lipid layer. The resulting effective protection against evaporation leads to patient satisfaction. In addition, the aqueous phase of the tear film is stabilised and watery eyes are prevented.
Thanks to the lipophilic property, a velvet-like feeling occurs when the drop spreads over the ocular surface.

2. Rapid spreading over the tear

Due to the low surface tension of perfluorohexyloctane, the drop spreads rapidly and quickly forms a protective layer over the tear film

3. High yield

The extremely low surface tension leads to the dispensing of a very small drop (about 10 μl). Consequently, with up to 280 drops per 3 ml content the product has a very high yield. In addition the drop volume corresponds to the capacity of the conjunctival sac. This ensures a pleasant application as little or no product will run out of the eye.

4. Long treatment duration

Thanks to the prolonged ocular retention time, the protection of the eye against evaporation is long-lasting. Combined with the high yield a bottle containing 3 ml offers a treatment duration of 35 or 70 days when applied 4 -times or twice a day respectively.

5. Preservative-free

Due to perfluorohexyloctane, EvoTears® and EvoTears® OMEGA are water-free. Microorganisms on the other hand depend on water for survival. Therefore, the products can be offered in a handy dropper bottle, even without the addition of preservatives.

6. No need for phosphates

The EvoTears® products, being water-free, do not have a pH and therefore do not need to be buffered. A pH outside the physiological range can cause a burning sensation. As buffer phosphate-containing compounds are often used, which, on an irritated ocular surface can lead to damage and thus visual impairment.

7. No need for emulsifiers

As EvoTears® and EvoTears® OMEGA are not oil-in-water-mixtures there is no need for emulsifiers.

8. No visual impairment

The refractive index of EvoTears® and EvoTears® OMEGA is equal to that of the tear and therefore they cannot impair vision.

9. No osmotic stress

Due to being water-free the EvoTears® products have no osmolarity. This prevents the ocular surface from being subjected to osmotic stress that can cause inflammation.

Die Innovation bei trockenen Augen

Die ersten Augentropfen mit Perfluorhexyloctan und die ersten wasserfreien Tropfen zur Behandlung trockener Augen

Der einzigartige* Lipidersatz

EvoTears® und EvoTears® OMEGA sind weltweit die ersten Augentropfen mit dem innovativen Inhaltsstoff Perfluorhexyloctan und zudem die ersten wasserfreien Tropfen zur Behandlung trockener Augen. Sie werden in einer handlichen Tropfflasche angeboten.

Die EvoTears® Produkte legen sich wie ein Schutzmantel sanft auf den Tränenfilm. Dadurch verhindern sie schnell und zuverlässig die frühzeitige Verdunstung des Tränenfilms und somit trockene Augen. Dabei wird das Sehvermögen nicht beeinträcht. Da frei von Hilfsstoffen sind sie hervorragend verträglich.

Trockene Augen werden verursacht

  • zu 58 % alleinig durch eine Lipidphasenstörung, d. h. einer frühzeitigen Verdunstung des Tränenfilms1,
  • zu 31 % durch eine Mischform von Lipidphasenstörung und Volumenmangel1

Da die EvoTears® Produkte gezielt die Lipidphasenstörung angehen, sind sie für 90 % der Betroffenen von trockenen Augen geeignet.

* aufgrund Perfluorhexyloctan und Wasserfreiheit

1 Tong L et al. Invest Ophthalmol Yis Sci, 2010. 51: 3449-3454

 

Die EvoTears® Produkte überzeugen mit entscheidenden Vorteilen:

1. EvoTears® und EvoTears® OMEGA übernehmen die Funktion der Lipidschicht

Die lipophile, d. h. Öl-ähnlichen Eigenschaft von Perfluorhexyloctan erlaubt es den EvoTears® Produkten die Funktion der Lipidschicht zu übernehmen. Der daraus resultierende effektive Verdunstungsschutz schafft zufriedene Patienten. Zudem wird die wässrige Phase des Tränenfilms stabilisiert und dem tränenden Augen vorgebeugt.
Dank lipophile Eigenschaft, entsteht bei der Anwendung ein samtiges Gefühl im Auge.

2. Schnelle Verteilung auf der Träne

Dank der geringen Oberflächenspannung von Perfluorhexyloctan, verteilt sich der Tropfen sehr schnell und bildet rasch einen einzigartigen filigranen Film, der sich schützend auf den Tränenfilm legt.

3. Hohe Ergiebigkeit

Die extrem niedrige Oberflächenspannung führt zu der Abgabe eines besonders kleinen Tropfens (ca. 10 µl). Somit ist das Produkt mit bis zu 280 Tropfen pro 3 ml Inhalt sehr ergiebig. Zudem entspricht das Tropfenvolumen dem Fassungsvermögen des Bindehautsacks. Dies sorgt für eine angenehme Anwendung, da keine oder nur wenig Flüssigkeit aus dem Auge austritt.

4. Große Reichweite

Dank langer Verweildauer am Auge, wird es nachhaltig vor Verdunstung geschützt. Somit reicht eine niedrige Anwendungshäufigkeit von 2- bis 4-mal am Tag aus. Dank der hohen Ergiebigkeit bietet eine Flasche zu 3 ml bei 4-mal täglicher Anwendung* eine Therapiedauer von 35 Tagen bzw. 70 Tagen, bei 2-mal täglicher Anwendung*. * Anwendung entspricht 1 Tropfen pro Auge

5. Konservierungsmittelfreiheit

Aufgrund der Reinsubstanz Perfluorhexyloctan sind EvoTears® und EvoTears® OMEGA wasserfrei. Mikroorganismen jedoch sind zum Überleben auf Wasser angewiesen. Somit können sie, auch ohne Zusatz von Konservierungsmitteln, in der handlichen Tropfflasche angeboten werden.

6. Kein Bedarf an Phosphaten

Dank Wasserfreiheit haben die EvoTears® Produkte keinen pH-Wert. Ein nicht im physiologischen Bereich liegender pH-Wert kann zu Brennen führen. Zudem müssen die Tropfen nicht gepuffert werden. Als Puffer werden häufig Phosphatverbindungen eingesetzt, die bei einer vorgeschädigten Hornhaut zu einer weiteren Verschlechterung und damit Sehbeeinträchtigung führen können.

7. Emulgatorfreiheit

Da EvoTears® und EvoTears® OMEGA kein Öl-Wasser-Gemisch sind, bedarf es keiner Emulgatoren.

8. Keine Sehbeeinträchtigung

Der Brechungsindex von EvoTears® und EvoTears® OMEGA entspricht dem der Träne. Demzufolge wird das Sehvermögen nicht beeinträchtigt.

9. Kein osmotischer Stress

Bedingt durch die Wasserfreiheit haben die EvoTears® Produkte keine Osmolarität. Dadurch wird einem osmotischen Stress auf der Augenoberfläche, der Entzündungen hervorrufen kann, vorgebeugt.